top of page
  • Writer's picture@SaraZork

My Home Decor

Updated: Apr 22, 2019


Home Decor has become something I've been very passionate about lately. It's been such a wonderful coping mechanism for me to do fun projects around my home that I enjoy and love looking at! Since most of my time is spent at home, I wanted to make it a positive environment! My style is a little all over the place, but I love it. I'm no professional, just sharing the things I love! This is just a compiled update so far, but going forward all new home updates will be separated!


In this post, I'll show you some of the general things I've been able to decorate so far!! This isn't necessarily the finished look, but the most updated look! I hope you enjoy!

My biggest goal with my home was to make a warm, inviting, and cozy environment with happy and relaxing colors! My fireplace has been my happy place lately. One of my biggest coping skills recently has been making my home - my sanctuary - a happy, warm environment. Filling my home with decorations that make my heart happy, with colors that make me happy, has been so huge in my mental health progress. I’ve been DIY-ing a lot of projects, flipping old home decor or furniture to fit my space and make it unique to us. And the satisfaction that comes from knowing I spent my creativity and resourcefulness on making my soul and my environment happy. (And the rush of scoring free or close to free items and making them look brand new).

This thumb print tree we have hanging above our mantel is such an amazing piece in my home! I highly recommend to anyone who plans on getting married in the future to offer this at your wedding!! My friend Jackie (who did an AMAZING job planning our wedding) had the amazing idea of printing out this tree with bare branches and having all of our guests thumb print the leaves to give the most beautiful memory from our special day! I love that we have a little piece of everyone we love with us in our home!! The jar to the left is filled with 3 different colored sands, representing Hayden, myself, and God, and the flowers to the right were used in my wedding also.

This is my beautiful “new” couch! I found this couch out by my dumpster, and it looked brand spanking new besides a few small stains that were easy to get out! We did an overall cleaning of the couch with a car carpet cleaner, and bam! New looking couch. It is also the comfiest couch I’ve ever owned! All the throw pillows we got at Goodwill for $1 each on half off Saturday! Throw blanket was a wedding gift. The coffee table was also found on the side of the road during bulk trash a few years ago, we sanded it, replaced some broken wood, and stained it and it’s been with us for 3 years now! We do plan on making a new coffee table eventually, but this is the current set up! All the plants and the window-shaped mirror surrounding the couch were handed down to us by a friend, and the cute orange candle holders I got from The Dollar Tree! Lamp I got at Ikea like 10 years ago, but I'm sure they have similar things now! Putting it all together (minus the lamp since I don’t remember how much it cost), this little set up cost me around $10. Recycled furniture is the way to go!!

I picked up this shelving unit on the side of the road during bulk trash, cleaned it off and made it my new decor and plant shelf. We ended up adding a few things around the shelf, but this was the picture I had on hand! All the flowers & pots are from Goodwill, cute little pumpkin is from Dollar Tree, and the lamp was $5 from Walmart. This whole shelving unit with decorations cost me around $10! Don’t discount bulk trash guys!! Not only do you score a new piece of furniture for free, but as a friend reminded me, you’re also being eco-friendly and helping our beautiful planet! A simple cleaning up and re-purposing and you have yourself a “brand new” piece of furniture. Not every upcycle has to be a ton of work, which I love. (A lot of my furniture is from the side of the road/bulk trash including my couch and coffee table! Just make sure you heavily inspect a piece of furniture before bringing it into your home! And never pick up a mattress! You never know what little critters could be hiding in the cushions!)


A couple more frames have been hung up and our apartment is gonna hate us when we move out from all the holes we’re making in the walls but it’s worth it!! Lol. I photographed these when I was 16 and have always wanted to hang my own photography in my home, so I was really excited to find these sleek frames at Walmart in the clearance section for just $1 each! I took both of these photos in California on a family vacation with my first ever semi-professional camera that I purchased myself. I love how it looks!!

My coffee station! The table was a wedding gift, I believe from Crate and Barrel, and all my lovely coffee accessories were also a wedding gift! The table actually has a slide out drawer that I keep all my tea in - love that feature!! The coffee sign at the bottom was bought at a local store in Prescott and the yellow milk pail was a hand-me-down from a friend! I painted the two canvases above! I love how they turned out! The top canvas says Zorker est. 2015 and the bottom one says “wake up and smell the coffee”. Fun fact: my husband is taking my last name (still hasn’t done it cause he’s lazy). Funner fact: I don’t drink coffee that much, especially in the summer, but you’ll catch me brewing a cup in the winter months!

Guys, I am LIVING for this right now and it’s all thanks to you who helped design my DIY!! (Check out my instagram for future "Decide my DIY" projects). My gold, distressed frame and a gold glitter leaf, with a matboard and a cute home quote came out so cute! If you can’t read it it says “You are my home”! (Featured in another post). Frame was from Goodwill! I got the gold letter stickers, stick on pearls, gold paint, and the cute little gold bucket holding the white flowers all from Walmart! Literally everything was a dollar or under except the gold paint! The cute little gold ceramic pumpkin is from The Dollar Tree! The succulent ($2.99) and the gold and white pumpkins stand up sign (99 cents) was from The 99 Cents Only Store! Added a few personal touches with our wedding books and such and this is the new set up to the (top half) of my bookshelf!!


Shelfie with our built-ins!! I seriously love that my apartment comes with built-in shelves. One day I’ll get a full picture, but I’m still working on it so it’ll have to wait for now! 🤗 fun little fact: the quote on the picture frame is a quote from my husband and I’s song while we were dating (of course it was a John Mayer song lol). The vase, candles, Mrs&Mr sign, and clear glass picture frame were all gifts!!



I found this cute create your own text cinematic light up box at 99 Cents Only Store for $4.99! I had wanted one of these for a long time and the second I saw this I knew I had to have it! It came with so many letters and symbols, so many options! I chose the phrase “You’re my favorite” as it’s something my hubby says to me often and it fills my heart with joy! Both the floor plant ($5) and the faux succulent in a mini watering can were from Goodwill. The mini succulent was so cute and only 70 cents at goodwill so I just had to grab it!!

Gold bathroom accents are everything!! I am living for this bathroom decor set up right now. Would you believe me if I said all of this (minus the perfume) was $5 or less!? The gold ceramic jar was actually bought at Hobby Lobby clearance section years ago and I got it for $5!! We use it to hold our q-tips and cotton swabs! The gold arrow jewelry stand I just got for 99 cents from Goodwill, and the gold arrow jewelry hanger on the wall was from Goodwill for $1.99! The beautiful mason jar soap dispenser is from The 99 Cents Only Store for 99 cents! The gold ampersand and the little mini tray are from The Dollar Tree! Of course I had to include my all time favorite perfume, Daisy by Marc Jacobs! Fun fact: I wore this perfume on my wedding day! And then of course I spray painted my little toothbrush holder gold to match!

Progress on our little gallery wall. Starting from the left: this was a caricature Hayden and I got done at Disneyland on our 1 year dating anniversary. It has literally been sitting in our closet because we didn’t know how we wanted to hang it, but we fit it in this gold frame and I’m obsessed!! The teal “Home Sweet Home” sign and the mini gold mirror are from The Dollar Tree! The Love frame and the gold frame with flowers were both from Goodwill for $1.50 each. The Love one was a flipped DIY I did, you can check my previous post on Instagram of this for more details!! And the Z was from Walmart for just a dollar or two and I painted it blue and put a few stick on pearls and then hung it up!!

This cute little Fall "Give Thanks" sign was 99 cents from the 99 Cents Only Store and I fell in love with this instantly! The baby blue with gold glitter just fit my space so perfectly, I just couldn't pass this up! They have so many different signs there along with a ton of other home decor!


One of my favorite things in my home is a photograph of Hayden and I taken by the extremely talented, inspiring, lovely, & beautiful @carlytraxler. She did a homage assignment in college and was inspired by the artist John Baldessari for this series and I love everything about it! We hung it up in our little hallway entering our bedroom and I just adore it. Art is such a blessing we get to have in this life.

And last but not least for this post, our bed! This is our current bed set up!! It’s not all the way how I want it, and the rest of our bedroom isn’t even close to being done, but it’s slowly coming along nicely! 💕 the comforter is Target brand! The two blue & white pillow cases in the back are from The 99 Cents Only Store! The grey hello body pillow is from Walmart for $12! I LOVE this pillow. It’s a reversible sequin pillow - holographic sequin on one side, unicorn skin on the other, and no matter how you flip it, it always says “hello” in the middle. I AM IN LOVE. And if any of you out there are holosexuals (cue @simplynailogical reference) I would highly recommend this pillow! The cute little patterned teal pillow I believe was from Target, but don’t quote me on that because we got it like 3 years ago! The two tan throw pillows on the side were from Goodwill for $1 each on half off Saturday! Bed frame was from Amazon 3 years ago!


If you've gotten this far, thanks for reading! This is a portion of my place so far and there will be many more to come!


Much love xx

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page