top of page
  • Writer's picture@SaraZork

I'm a Bargain Lady, Baby - Goodwill and Clearance Shopping Tips

The low down on Goodwill and Clearance Shopping

I don't know about you, but I was raised shopping at Goodwill and was known for heading straight to the *clearance* section of any "normal" store I walked into. The reason for the asterisks around "clearance"? Because many people confuse the sale rack and clearance as the same, but let me learn you something really quick. *They are not the same* I repeat they are NOT THE SAME! Clearance is the final call, final price of that item. Meaning this is the lowest price you can get this item before it gets tossed out or donated! Things go on sale before they go on clearance, so the best deals you can get will always be in the clearance section!


Now when it comes to Goodwill shopping I always get asked "how do you find such good stuff? Every time I go I never find that good of stuff!" So here's a few Sara Tips that probably won't help you, but will make me feel smart.


Sweater & Top from Goodwill. Sorry for my messy mirror & messy life. :)


1. Half off Saturdays - Every other Saturday, Goodwill has 50% off of every color tag! This usually doesn't include those cool rugs at the front of the store that were donated from the local department store, but any colored tag is 50% off! This is when I get my absolute best deals and its much easier since I don't have to pay attention to what color tag I pick up! It's all free reign!!


2. 50% off select color tags everyday - Every single day when you walk into your local Goodwill, there will be a sign in the front of the store designating a specific color tag. Any item with that colored tag will be 50% off that day! If I'm looking to get the best deals on a normal week day, I will only look for those colored tags (unless there's something I just can't risk missing out on!)


3. Dollar Thursdays - Now I'm unsure if all Goodwill's offer this, but the ones surrounding my area in Phoenix offer Dollar Tag Thursdays! Every Thursday, all items with that select color tag are only $1! I have found some crazy cool deals this way! If you're not sure if you're Goodwill does this, you can always check with your local Goodwill or look it up online!


White Tray from Goodwill, Glass Light Bulb Tumbler from The 99 Cents Only Store!

Now those are the deals they offer, but how do I find such cool stuff? Well...I DIG! One of the trade-offs of spending less money on items and shopping at Goodwill is putting in a little more elbow grease when it comes to finding the "gold". I will spend a good hour and a half at one Goodwill digging through items and trying everything on! One thing I learned when it comes to Goodwill is you have to be willing to try on some duds. The clothes are going to look a little different on the hanger after they've been worn and washed, so it's important to try on clothes! I have found some of my favorite pieces by just trying it on before passing on it. If I like the pattern but the shape looks slightly weird, I'll try it on anyway to see if it fits on my body.

The low down on clearance shopping

Now to be frankly honest, there's not a lot of tips I can give you when it comes to clearance shopping. But I can lay out the basics for those who don't shop clearance very much! When you walk into a store, like Target, Walmart, or a clothing store, here's what you want to look out for:


1. Bright Yellow or Red tags - Most places with clearance sections or items mark their clearance with a bright colored tag (most likely to get your attention on the low price). Sometimes they're even gracious enough to have large red or yellow signs above the clearance section for your convenience!


2. The clearance is almost always in the back or the middle of the store - Most of the time, you can find the clearance in the back or middle aisles of stores. For example, at my local Fry's Market Place there's a whole wall of clearance items in the back left! I always check here for random little things like makeup or cute little candles for super cheap and I've found some great things there! At my local Walmart, the clearance section is almost always changing, but I can always count on finding some clearance items on the end caps in the middle aisles, which also rings true in my local Target!


3. Watch out for stores like Kohl's - Not bashing on Kohl's AT ALL! She was poppin' in my life in my middle and high school days (wow, I'm dumb), but the way they label their prices can be very tricky! They do a marketing tactic where all of their clothes are "on sale." What this means is they are actually selling you full price items, but making you believe you are getting a good deal based on the "before" price on the tag, when most of those clothes are brand new to the store! Make sure you go to the rack actually labeled "clearance" and not just "sale". At Kohl's, they even sort the clearance by percentage off so you can always find a good deal on those racks!


4. Clearance items are almost always non-refundable - Because these items are clearance and a "last call" to buy, most companies won't accept returns. Make sure to inspect your items well before you purchase, because once you do there's no going back!


5. Target Dollar Spot - Now this isn't technically clearance, BUT I have found some super cool things from the Target Dollar spot! They have things from $1, $3, $5 & up. This is usually in the very front of the store so don't pass it up!


Cute sweater mug from the Target Dollar Spot for $3!

Thanks for listening to my tips! I hope they were helpful!


Much love xx

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page